Thinking Twice

She calls out to the man on the street
“Sir, can you help me?
It’s cold and I’ve nowhere to sleep,
Is there somewhere you can tell me?”

He walks on, doesn’t look back
He pretends he can’t hear her
Starts to whistle as he crosses the street
Seems embarrassed to be there

Can you guess where those words are from? Here’s another hint. It was sung by a famous musician, who also sang such classic hits as “Against All Odds,” “Take A Look At Me Now,” and “You’ll Be In My Heart.” Still, no idea? It’s Phil CollinsAnother Day in Paradise.

I grew up listening to Phil Collins, and it was only until recently that I really appreciated the words of this song. The vivid imagery he uses to describe the homeless really resonates with me. Take for instance, the following stanza:

She calls out to the man on the street
He can see she’s been crying
She’s got blisters on the soles of her feet
She can’t walk but she’s trying

The man can see her dire situation – she can barely walk and has been crying for days. Her physical and emotional pain is unbearable and everyone continues to pass her by as if she’s “nothing.”  She’s been laying on the floor for days on end. The question is, “Will this man be the FIRST to actually help her out?” All the man has to do is offer some spare change, some food, or some clothing, but, nothing happens. Instead, we are left to wonder the conclusion to her oppressed situation.

This song makes me rethink about my life and how I truly am lucky to have what I have. If you put yourself in their situation, you WOULD want someone else to help you out. No matter how small or large your contribution is, you really can make a difference in their lives. Phil Collins sings this song with such clarity and emotion, that you can feel the pain and agony experienced by this homeless woman. So, next time, if ever you are in that man’s situation, think twice! We are living in paradise and we should be grateful for what he have.

This continues to be my inspiration for my iCARE Campaign and I hope to spread my passion toward helping those in need to today’s community.

This entry was posted in iCARE Campaign for Homeless, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

